Jakarta Biennale 2009 Artwork: Julia-Sarisetiati

Jakarta Biennale 2009


Venue: National Gallery of Indonesia, Grand Indonesia

7-27 February 2009

Artistic Director: Ade Darmawan
Curator: Abduh Aziz (Discernment Zone), Ardi Yunanto (Battle Zone), Agung Hujatnikajennong (Fluid Zone)


The Jakarta Biennale 2009 is one of the important milestones in the history of the exhibition. For the first time, this art biennial was expanded in scope as an international event. In this 13th edition, the Jakarta Biennale carried the big theme of “Arena” with a series of events divided into three major zones, namely Discernment Zone, Battle Zone, and Fluid Zone.

With such format, the 2009 Jakarta Biennale strove for a major art event that enables public interactions. Art was not presented merely as works on display but also as a strategy of change that involves the subject of the city, where reflective, critical, and creative ideas are collectively expected to open up more inspirational, participatory, and tolerant new spaces in the city arena.

Jakarta, with an area of 661 square km and tens of millions of population that continues to grow rapidly, like any other agglomerated urban cities, also tends to lose its social functions, especially the potentials of its citizens as socio-cultural creatures.

Development of urban spaces with mere focus on economic and physical aspects often overrides social and individual ones. Individuals within a city structure are seen as objects of a system. In such a system, it seems that an individual is in multiple arenas to fight over space, both economic and physical ones. And this concentration for economic growth pays no attention either to cultural aspects. The Jakarta Biennale is held as a form of artists’ accountability to their community and increased appreciation.

Ali Akbar (Indonesia), Angki Purbandono (Indonesia), Ari Dina Krestiawan (Indonesia), Bujangan Urban (Indonesia), Carterpaper (Indonesia), Cecil Mariani (Indonesia), Daniel Kampua (Indonesia), Donna Ong, Eko Nugroho (Indonesia), Enrico Halim, Eric Widjaja, Hadiwirman Saputra (Indonesia) Hoang Duong Cam, Ismiaji Cahyono, Iswanto Hartono, Jompet Kuswidananto, Khairuddin Hori (Indonesia), Lyra Garcellano (Filipina), Ming Wong (Singapore), Montri Toemsombat (Thailand), Nadiah Bamadhaj (Malaysia), Paul Kadarisman (Indonesia), Poklong Anading (The Philippines), Porntaweesak Rimsakul (Thailand), Restu Ratnaningtyas (Indonesia), Reza Afisina (Indonesia), Ritchie Ned Hansel (Indonesia), Roslisham Ismail (Indonesia), Rudi Mantofani (Indonesia), Ryan Riyadi aka The Popo (Indonesia), Sekar Jatiningrum (Indonesia), Sherman Ong (Malaysia), Stani Michiels (Belgia), Syahrul Amami (Indonesia), Takuro Kotaka (Japan), Tawatchai Puntusawasdi (Thailand), Thaweesak Srithongdee (Thailand), The Secret Agents (Indonesia), Tintin Wulia (Indonesia), Veronica Kusuma (Indonesia), Videobabes (Indonesia), Vincent Leong (Malaysia), Wimo Ambala Bayang (Indonesia), Wiyoga Muhardanto (Indonesia), Yan Mursid (Indonesia), Yason Banal (The Philippines). Sekar Jatiningrum (Indonesia), Sherman Ong (Malaysia)Stani Michiels (Belgia)Syahrul Amami (Indonesia), Takuro Kotaka (Jepang?), Tawatchai Puntusawasdi (Thailand), Thaweesak Srithongdee (Thailand), The Secret Agents (Indonesia), Tintin Wulia (Indonesia), Veronica Kusuma (Indonesia), Videobabes (Indonesia), Vincent Leong (Malaysia), Wimo Ambala Bayang (Indonesia), Wiyoga Muhardanto (Indonesia), Yan Mursid (Indonesia), Yason Banal (Filipina)