Skip to content

Jakarta Biennale 2021 ESOK

Toward the end of 2019, “ESOK” was conceived as the main theme of the Jakarta Biennale XVI. The idea is to touch on the numerous life issues in the world today: human rights, the environment, diversity, gender equality, political polarization to digital disruption.

These problems have been revolving; being read, contemplated, discussed, and expressed in the corridors of contemporary art. By way of a rereading of history and a gaze toward the future, strategies and experimentations in what art can offer bear the urgency while in search of and creating meanings of ESOK.

Raising hope for ESOK, the Jakarta Biennale mutates to offer the novelty of the future. When the pandemic later passes, we will build a new history together, toward ESOK that we aspire to.

OPENING–Jakarta Biennale 2021: ESOK

Public opening of the 2021 Jakarta Biennale: ESOK at the National Awakening Museum with remarks from the Director General of Culture Hilmar Farid, the Head Officer on Duty of the National Awakening Museum Pustanto, and the Head of the Tourism and Creative Economy Office of Jakarta Special Region Andhika Permata, attended by invitees.

VERNISSAGE–Jakarta Biennale 2021: ESOK

Inaugurated by Governor Anies Baswedan along with Officer on Duty, Head of the National Museum Mrs. Sri Hartini and the Secretary General of Education, Culture, Research and Technology Mrs. Suharti Sutar and attended by invitees.

FILM SCREENING PROGRAMS

Every Saturday
At National Awakening Museum
Audio Visual Room

INTERNATIONAL SYMPOSIUM:

ART ACTIVISM & ECOSYSTEM In A CHANGING, HYPERDIGITISED WORLD
January 2022
JB2021 ESOK [Monthly Event] Publish or cherish? Publication in the course of defeat Chen Yun & Rifki Akbar Pratama

Tuesday, 2 November 2021 14.00 (WIB / GMT+7) 15.00 (Singapore, Shanghai / GMT+8

JB2021 ESOK [Monthly event] Modernist Networks: Take 1 Anissa Rahadiningtyas, Antariksa, Kerstin Winking

Moderated by: Sally Texania

Monday, 27 September 2021 18.00 (WIB/GMT+7) 21.00 (AEST/GMT+10) 13.00 (CEST/GMT+2)